$3.87 Million Pledged in United Way of Greater Waterbury's 2017-18 Annual Campaign

Campaign Chairman Charles J. Boulier, III of Ion Bank proudly announced the United Way of Greater Waterbury's 2017-18 Annual Campaign was the second most successful in the organization's history at Thursday evening's 32nd Annual Community Leaders and Awards Dinner.


Pledges to the campaign equaled $3.87 million. That's second only to the record-setting $4.1 million raised last year through the historic 75th anniversary campaign.

"This truly took a team effort by everyone involved," Mr. Boulier told the crowd of almost 450 gathered for the dinner at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville. "The total raised includes dollars personally designated by the donor to other nonprofit organizations in and outside our service area, including partner agencies and other United Ways," he said. "Most importantly, it includes the vital unrestricted dollars pledged to United Way. These are the dollars leveraged by the volunteers of the Community Impact Councils to deliver maximum impact in our three targeted impact areas of education, basic needs and financial stability.""The reasoning behind all this is really quite simple," UWGW Board Chairman Donald W. Mroz, president of Post University told those gathered. "Because we all win when a child enters school ready to learn. We all win when a parent can provide for their family. We all win when our neighbors have enough to eat, a roof over their heads and access to healthcare. We all win when everyone has an opportunity to succeed."

Tameeka Cribs of Webster Bank, representing the United Way Emerging Leaders, announced that the successful Bed Races, a campaign highlight, will return October 13th, as she revealed an exciting video recap of the 2017 event produced by Brian Kelley of WORX that was met with enthusiastic applause.


The evening's honorees included Jim Smith, who was humbled to have the Spirit of Excellence Award renamed the James C. Smith Spirit of Excellence Award in his honor, NEOPERL, Inc. who were the first recipients of the award for their campaign efforts, Frederic & Lucy Kellogg Award honoree Sandra Vigliotti Senich, Community Volunteer of the Year Elizabeth Crichton Brown and United Way Organized Labor Community Service Award honoree Mark Lombardo. Their acceptance speeches were inspirational and are coming soon to our YouTube channel!